I had to reread my review of this album, because when thinking of this list, I really tossed her back and forth from #2 to #1. My opinions written when the album first came out still ring true. I absolutely LOVE this album! Beyonce turned away from her usual dance anthem hits and sang songs about love, loss, and everything in between. I’ve sung each track in the shower, in the car, and on the treadmill at the gym.

The only downside to this album is there are almost no dance hits. You have “Countdown”, “End of Time”, and “Party” that are ok in the club, but nothing like “Single Ladies” or “Get Me Bodied”.  It seemed as though Bey was ready to sit down in front of a mic and sing. That’s it. And while that seemed to be true, the songs were still amazing! The first hint that the album wouldn’t be all dancy is the title: 4. Simple, sweet, and classic.

I’m sure to be playing jams like “Love On Top”, “Start Over”, and “I Miss You” for years to come. It’s a timeless album that ensured Beyonce’s reign as the top diva! Every single time I turn the album on, I get ready to sway, swoon, and cry all at the same time.

2011 was definitely a great year for Beyonce! She not only had one of the best albums of the year, but also announced her pregnancy! Get it Bey! I’m definitely looking forward to her next offering.

